Boy Band

One of my aims in taking photographs here is to challenge people's perceptions of Ethiopia. Most people think of famine when you ask them about this country....

Two things for today which may surprise you. First of all, I spent the afternoon watching karate. One of the surgeons is a black belt and a few years ago he decided to see if there was a karate club here and made contact. Today he was taking a class of all ages and abilities. I was offered a chance to join in but decided to take photos instead (see extra).

Secondly, I am fascinated by Ethiopian style. My tutor had suggested that I could do my Fashion Location assignment while I was here, but I had my doubts...however, I keep having my head turned by the most amazing looks. As we left the karate dojo, I passed this group of young men and couldn't resist asking if I could photograph them. They were only too happy to oblige and then D got in on the act.

D says when we come back to Ethiopia next time, they will all be wearing flat caps :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.