Ghana (day 14)

Lots of Blip material today.

Choosing one was tricky, but ultimately if you're lucky enough (1) to see an elephant go for a dip in the waterhole and (2) get some shots of it, is there really any choice?

I was in my room just before lunch and saw another guest run past. It was 35º so that was an alert. I went along to the viewpoint by the swimming pool and got my Blip.

Late afternoon we visited an eco village nearby. It's a project which gives the villagers alternatives to subsistence agriculture after their crops were destroyed by elephants from the park a few years ago.

I bought shea butter because they produce and sell it now. Much sought after and expensive in Europe, I'm told. One of the extras is the vendor's granddaughter helping to prepare our containers.

The other is a shot of the village. I couldn't help but reflect on the developed world still hoovering up the undeveloped world's resources, to leave people living in mud huts. Then we're outraged when they try to get a bit of the action for themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.