The only things left on the woodland floor ...

Millmoor Plantation in the afternoon - very dark so my mini-tripod came to the rescue.  Most of the woodland fungi now seems to have gone or are decaying.  Still a few of the yellow brittle gills about but these were being  eaten by slugs.  
I spotted more fungi in grassland than in the wood (such a change from my last weekends visit to Stoneycliffe Wood where there was fungi in abundance).  Growing in grass:  another single ink cap which I believe to be a very new shaggy ink cap (not even chewed) and a patch of Yellow Fieldcap which are well on the way to decaying (apparently they do this within 24 hours - thank you to Pat O'Reilly and his book `Fascinated by Fungi' for helping me to name this one).  I also brought home a broken off fruit body which I believe to be a Snowy Waxcap.  I spotted quite a patch of them on my way back down the hill - I always seem to find more when I'm coming back downhill than when I'm going up!

A morning visit to the market to buy fruit and veg and then the supermarket in Penistone.  I'm not sure what's happened to the market traders - there seem to be fewer of them each week and it is a lovely space (but cold).  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.