Just a frigid afternoon

That is not what Jafa stands for, but it was a bit chilly this afternoon when I went for another delayed run. It took a good 5 minutes after I started to warm up. I know that the temperature here is much warmer than points south and there may be a temptation to call me a Jafa.

This cafe opened some years ago amid controversy. Another cafe challenged their right to use the name on the basis that something like 1,00o km south of here, they were already using the name. The design of the logo was different, but they claimed priority. We knew the owner's mother, and heard that he was really upset that this challenge was occurring as the legal fees to fight it could be very high.

It all seemed to go away quite quickly, and this cafe, quite close to my office, is a very good and popular place for weekend brunch, and weekday lunch. Breakfast coffee during the week must also be pretty good as they open at 0630.

The name Jafa, was a term of disdain coined in New Zealand's South Island quite a number of years ago. Just another f...ing Aucklander.

This is the 22nd in my cafe series

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.