My Angle

By myangle

Land Ahoy!

What a day! We arrived in Noumea, New Caledonea mid afternoon. New Caledonia is a French colony so I got a chance to try out my very basic schoolboy French. Despite warnings from the ships crew that nobody spoke English we found that most people we met had at least a basic grasp of English.
We did a very quick bus tour of the town, takign in the sights in just over an hour. Noumea done! Instead of coming back to the ship for dinner we ate at a very nice little fish restaurant.

Now back on the ship we are very tired. Noumea is a very short stop. We docked at 3pm and leave at 11pm tonight. I suspect I will be fast asleep by then.

Tomorrow we arrive at Lifu, one of the more remote islands of New Caledonia. Our plan is to skip the shore tours and opt for some beach time instead. Apparently you don't have to venture far from the jetty to find some sand.

I took this photo early this morning. The Pacific Dawn sailing into a Pacific dawn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.