Crinan

I left Foyers this morning in lovely light which made travelling up the road to Fort Augustus a long process as I had to stop acouple of times to take photos. One of these was the shot I've put in the extras, Loch Tarff looking from the east. Whilst stopped here I could hear a stag giving his roar in the distance and further down the road I saw several Black Grouse. I think this is the most beautiful view I have seen since returning from New Zealand in March.

This afternoon I pitched up at Barcaldine near Oban, having stopped off to take a photo of Castle Stalker. A year or two back, I stopped a couple of miles back and walked down the old railway track to photograph it at sea level. I think that this high level shot from the roadside is probably better because of the high level that views the castle against the water of Loch Linnhe rather than against the far shore.

I drove off to Crinan in worsening weather which started as drizzle and increased steadily. It very kindly cleared for me as I arrived at Crinan. It's a lovely village and it has a red striped lighthouse! Not a very big one admittedly. I came here to see the woods, or Scottish Rain Forest as it's billed. It started raining again so I cut that short.

That's my main blip but there are several others from the day here including one of the fine old Castle Stalker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.