But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Common or Garden Toadstool.

I should have been posting a Mono Monday blip on the topic of "Travel" but that would have meant a little more effort than I was prepared to make today as I was rather busy.

While hanging out the washing, I noticed this rather splendid, apart from a little slug damage, toadstool (yet to be identified). Not far away was the very delicate specimen shown in the extra; this is the last shot I took of it before I clumsily destroyed it while trying to find and remove the blades of grass obscuring the view. Next time I'll try using tweezers.

I’ve just posted yesterday’s “Dragin.”

Edit: After much searching, I think this is a Boletus; I did wonder about B. rubellus or B. regius but they are both too rare to be likely and while the habitat is right for rubellus, regius associates with oak or conifers.
The little on in the extra is likely to be Mycena aetites (Drab bonnet), it is common though often overlooked, the only doubt is the sparseness of the gills, but fungi are very variable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.