But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

In Pittencrieff Park.

As part of the Midlothian Science Festival, there was a talk about the history of the Honeybee which included the beehive carved out of stone, which forms part of the fabric of the Chapel. The hive is occupied at present but, as is the nature of things, periodically, the colony dies out, wax moth moves in and destroys the honeycomb and then a new colony of bees moves in and builds new comb. When the restoration work was carried out a few years ago, the cavity was cleaned out and, I read on the internet that the comb had been sent to an expert to establish the precise specie that had produced it. What actually happened was that Mrs TD brought it home in a carrier bag, I looked at it and told her that it was made by honeybees, and then extracted the wax and used it for my own nefarious purposes.
 
Any road up, my interest in the talk meant that I had a short cycle ride of my own instead of going out with the club. While I’m sure that I would have arrived home in time to go to the talk, I might not have been able to stay awake for the duration. My route took me to Pittencrieff Park, a public park in Dunfermline. It was purchased in 1902 by the town's most famous son, philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, and given to the people of Dunfermline in a ceremony the following year. The concrete construction being examined by this young lady is a telephone box which was installed in 1928. It’s interesting that the standard British red phone box in its earliest form was the K2 design which was introduced two years before in 1926. The shade of red paint did change slightly over the years with the latest  being known as  "currant red" which is covered by British Standard, BS381C-Red539.

Although there were a couple of concrete designs in general use (the K1 and K3), they still followed the general appearance of the familiar red box; this one is unique and originally featured diamond leaded windows. 
As always, I am grateful to my friend Wikipedia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.