Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The List dwindles, then expands.

Started on my list nice and early. Start with the easy ones -
Ring boiler folk. Done
Ring about charges on my mobile in Oz. Done
eMail friend with contact details in Oz. Done.
W
Doing well, eh?

So plenty of time for a visit to my camera shop man with a couple more things for him to give me a few pennies for. I fondled the lens that I have my eye on, and no, it's not the most expensive one.

I can just about make it. Someone wants to buy my amp. He didn't want all the other CD, DVD, video players etc. But I've persuaded him to take the lot. We've agreed on a price, but he's away on an oilrig rig at the moment and I'm away even further soon. He promised me he'd contact me when I come back. So almost sold, I'll count that.

Canon were offering £50 back when I bought the camera, but the cheque hasn't appeared yet. When I rang them they said they'd sent it to my address - a school I was at a couple of years ago, and which is now demolished! They kept saying I must have entered that address on my form. I kept saying I'm retired - why would put that? Anyway, I should get it this week.

I walked on down to M&S to order some flowers to be delivered to a retiring friend. Not a retiring friend, a friend who is retiring.

'We deliver from 7am to 7pm. Oh no, we can't guarantee to deliver them before 7 o'clock'.

'But she's at a school. It closes before 5. And she's at work during the day, so I can't give you her home address.'

You'd think that the delivery chaps could look at their deliveries, sort them and deliver to work addresses during the day and home addresses in the evening. Too hard? Too obvious?

So I'll have to go and deliver them myself. Add to list.

Walked back through the Bruntsfield Links. Some Boot Camp Mums were in action, but I didn't like to go too near and take a photo, although they looked great silhouetted in odd positions under the trees.

But I looked the other way at this row of houses. I've always liked this road. Chick Murray's * Pub used to be there, which I would pop into when visiting my parents in the 70s. There was also a Youth Hostel. But they've all been done up and are very desirable.

The day had started off sunny, but as you can see, the clouds were moving in, although it was warm enough. Relatively.

Off to meet ex-colleagues at the pub after school. Better get a couple more things ticked off!

* Scots of a certain age will remember Chick Murray, a comedian.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.