Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

George

Popped across the Meadows to check out the wee coffins in the Museum. Having been reminded of them on my Arthur's Seat Guided Walk the other day, I wanted to see them.

Well, I am also reminded what a maze the Museum is! I wonder if anybody goes missing, found next morning still wandering about, looking for the exit...

I eventually found a couple of attendants and asked where the coffins were. They were obviously bored, because they both enthusiastically accompanied me and we stood and talked for ages, about witches, Whitby (the younger chap's granny lives there and is gets confused when they have the Goth Festivals) and of course about the coffins. They were tiny (the coffins, not the attendants). Only about 10cms long with an incredible amount of detail.

I also went to the Amber Exhibition, which was interesting, but I wouldn't want a nice amber necklace with a bug inside, thanks.

At the bus stop was this gentleman. I have seen him there before. I thought he looked rather dapper, in his jacket and nice tidy jeans.

'Can I take your photo?'
'Why would you want to take my photo?'
'I've got a new camera'
(little white lie).
'Oh. I thought it was because you thought I looked handsome.'

So he posed for me. He doesn't mind that I'm putting it on blip. His name is George and he used to be a 'Military Man' as you can tell from his bearing. He says he used to be a bit of a 'hard man'.

He was beginning to offer to do lots more photos, any time, if I wanted, and his bus came, but we waved to each other like long lost friends as he left...

With a camera, you I get quite bold. Without a camera, I would not have spoken to George. And he deserves to be blipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.