Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A decision ...

... has been made. Phew! It's either a pathetic saga of procrastination and dithering, or a well informed, well researched result. I'm not sure which.

But it's been hours of looking at online reviews and comments and forums and YouTube videos. I love all these sad helpful people sitting in their bedrooms doing reviews of cameras!

And yes, I think I have found the almost perfect camera. Except for the price, of course...

I was back to the compact cameras I'd originally researched, but my list had flown out the window when I was led astray by that cheeky little 50X zoom. I think there's a moral to that story.

But good ol' John Lewis - I can't praise them enough - took it back this morning, with a wee check that everything was there. Bless them!

'I want to return a camera.'
'Was it faulty?'
'No. I just didn't like it enough.'

I have made the decision. And it's a different decision to the one I made yesterday, which was to keep the SX50 - I went out with my monopod and it worked fine for holding it steady - I was weakening...

Then I boxed it up again and made another final decision. Then I looked again and had two contenders, and I slept on it. I sat up this morning and resumed my research on my iPad in bed. Yes. That's the one!

I rang Uncle A to arrange a day for visiting him, and I told him the camera I was getting.

Then I had another check, made another list, compared more camera specs, and decided on a different one - one I had already checked out and dismissed.

And so this afternoon I have looked online, and as my finger quivered over the 'Buy' button, I took a deep breath and a swig of coffee (though not at the same time) and CLICKED!

I know I've made the right decision this time, because had I bought another one, I'd've still quietly lusted after this little beauty.

I popped out to take some shots in a neighbour's garden. I love these wee flowers - hope somebody tells me what they are. [Edit: [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/Quaver]Quaver[/url] tells me they are astrantia].

I feel all weak. I will have to lie down on the sofa for the rest of the day. Just as well there's tennis on! Just hope it's not those screeching women...

EDIT: It IS screeching women! I am discovering the joys of the red button, where you can choose a different game to watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.