Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Caerphilly Castle

All day has been lovely and sunny. After making the wife's sandwich box and packing her off to work I headed for Caerphilly Castle to do an aerial view. I haven't done it for a long time and wanted one facing North.

Cardiff City are playing Middlesborough this evening so I wanted to catch up on blip as I got a couple of days behind due to some servers not working when we were away.  Hopefully they'll get a win. They're doing better than I expected this season.


I won't go into a detailed history as I've done that before, but the castle, surrounded by a series of moats and watery islands was the brainchild of Gilbert ‘the Red’ de Clare, a redheaded of Norman descent. He also built the original Castell Coch, ‘Red Castle’, located the other side of Caerphilly mountain ( I posted a picture yesterday ). The castle dates from 1260. It's the largest in Wales and the second largest in the UK - after Windsor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.