Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Along The Trail

I've been using a FitBit for about 5 weeks now since Mrs BB got me one. It's a great exercise motivator, which is very helpful when one indulges in too many 5 star all-inclusive holidays.

It reminds me of the story of my favourite football player, Phil Dwyer, who played for Cardiff City and Wales. Back in the 1970/80's they weren't overpaid like todays prima donnas and had to get jobs. Phil joined South Wales Police and then, after an incident, became a legal representative. He came to Caerphilly Police Station, some time in 2002, to represent a prisoner. He'd piled on the weight something awful. I made him a cuppa and we chatted, me still in awe of my childhood idol. He told me he'd just come back from an all-inclusive holiday to Kenya and had indulged too much like others he'd been on. Lovely guy. It was a shame to see a professional athelete change shape so much. 

Anyway, I decided to go for a local walk up the mountain and along the Machen Forge Trail and get used to a new camera. The photo I like best is this dog walker using the footpath which is the old railway line. You can still see part of a railway bridge. Nature has done a great job of reclaiming it, and the autumnal colours are beautiful.

Wide Angle Wednesday Challenge:

1.  Freyjad                                   First light over countryside
2.  Eags                                       Sunshine over The Clyde
3.  Hesscat                                 London Street at night
4.  MaryElizaR                            Snow scene
5.  LizEllen                                   Moored boats and lovely sky

Worth a mnetion!

a)  JohnR                   My castle pic from yesterday!!  LOL
b)  JJ19                     City Scape at night

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.