mrsc48

By mrsc48

Saved me a fortune

My windscreen washers haven't been working for a day or two - well a week if truth be known.

Anyway, today I took my little motor that I don't really like but have to put up with back to the garage it originated from.

It's a well known garage not sure how reputable actually given comments I've seen on social network recently.

So, off i went to the well known garage. I explained to the gentleman on reception that my washers don't work, they make a funny noise like they are pumping but no water. Like the noise when they are frozen. He told me my motor is not covered by warranty which I would have guessed any way from such a reputable dealer.

So with a few taps in the computer, name and address verified he confirmed this problem is not covered by warranty.

Now its going to cost £35 to have the filter cleaned, its a bit tricky to take it to bits and put back together so its £35. Would i like to book it in now and have someone look at it. Well its a fine day so i thought I'd manage another day and will book it in somewhere else. £35 my backside.

This got me thinking I am half a century old. I have had a few cars, new, used and scrap. Never ever in all my years have i heard of washers having a filter. Please tell me if anyone else has. My motor is 3 yrs old, its not pre -war it is relatively new so this is new on me.

So, now i've got no washers and nowhere to fix them. I arrived at my little brothers house and told him the tale of the theiving reputable dealer. I needed some air in my tyres so he did that for me and then suggested i lift the bonnet to look at my washers.

Well Harry Potter had nothing on this, he lifted the bonnet, touched the blue top on the washer bottle. I turned the key and pressed the button and hey presto i had water on my windscreen. Now clearly the filter is not blocked and it didn't take £35 to fix it.

Cheers little brother you saved me a fortune.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.