Incredibish

By Incredibish

Celts: Art and Identity

So today was a very rare visit to London to see the Celts: Art and Identity exhibition. In truth I generally avoid London like the very plague, but this was a have-to moment. 

The collection was quite small but wonderful, although we smiled to see that some of it had came from the free-to-view museum into the pay-for section. The local elements were however joined by masses of items from around the Celtic world including the Gundestup Cauldron - and I never thought I would see that thing face to faces! Worth a shiny penny to see that alone. 

The new-agey drifting almost music has been commented on elsewhere, so I'll just note that it added nothing to the experience that couldn't have been bettered by some drumming and the winding of the carnyx.

We spent time in other areas too, though the Celt exhibition was the main event for us but, since photography was not allowed in the exhibition, as far as blips go I think the actual building merits a shot. I loved this glazed dome; having not been to the museum in decades it was a new delight for me.

There are a couple of other shots in my flicker account.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.