TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Light At The End Of The Tunnel

I was so curious about the old railroad tunnel that I found yesterday but couldn't really explore because I had my dog with me (he of the control issues), that I returned today to take up where I had left off.
 I was really excited to explore and photograph the Coburn Tunnel (originally part of the Lewisburg and Tyrone RR but abandoned about 100 years ago), not because I am thrilled about tunnels but because I am fascinated to discover abandoned places and enjoy imagining what they were like in their heyday. 
This particular tunnel stands beside Penns Creek and is very easy to get to. I have to admit to feeling a bit claustrophobic and creeped out at about the halfway point of my trek through but I gathered my courage and picked my way through the piles of shale that serve as the "floor" of the structure until I emerged triumphant on the other side. :)
I snapped a handful of photos to document my exploration from beginning to end but this one is my favorite because I see it as a true embodiment of the phrase, "The light at the end of the tunnel." A beautiful, bright and positive note at the end of an arduous path.

Light At The End


In the deepest, darkest hour,
When you've given up all hope,
While you're trembling and you cower,
At the ending of your rope,
Your confidence soon will flower,
And you'll learn that you can cope,
When light shines at the end of the tunnel.


As you stumble in the darkness,
And you think you've lost your way,
In the labyrinth of starkness,
On October's blackest day,
Do you think you'll find your mark? Yes!
I am confident you'll say,
When light shines at the end of the tunnel.


When you think your dreams are shattered,
And are buried in the ground,
You've lost everything that matters,
And there's no hope to be found,
Well, those fears will all be scattered,
And your faith will soon rebound,
When light shines at the end of the tunnel.


~ Thomas Reischel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.