Blaze of Glory

The weather has been just gorgeous lately, and if it stayed like this forever, I'd be happy. (Well, you know what? Even if it doesn't, I'll still plan on being happy! Because that's just how I roll. . . . )

It's chilly overnight and then clear and beautiful during the day. The afternoons are sunny with almost summer-like warmth. That's why I think of this time of year as "autumn in the morning, summer in the afternoon." We went from temperatures in the 30s F over the weekend to afternoons in the 70s this week - that's a big temperature swing!

Another reason I like this time of year is that the sunrise takes place now every morning as I am driving to work. That will last for about another week and a half, until they change the clocks (which I must admit I'm not looking forward to). So I often catch the sunrise each morning right around Sawmill Road, near Stormstown. And this day was no exception.

The foliage is orange and yellow everywhere now, with a red or two tucked in for good measure. When the morning sun hits, there is fire in the hills. And so I was driving along, watching the light begin, watching flame jump to flame, when suddenly the orange orb appeared. It was cresting the tree-line just as I drove by, and of course, I had to stop, even if only for a few minutes. (My personal theory being, as we may recall, that two minutes of happy is better than none at all!)

The sunrise is the greatest show on Earth. And it's free - it happens every single day. And you can go watch it if you want to. I try to see it every chance I get. One second, you are standing there in darkness. And the next second, there it is! A blaze of golden glory, lighting up the sky, lighting up the hills, lighting up the fields.There you are . . . Good MORNING!

Now, you know I'm an 80s girl and you saw the title of the Blip, so you can guess what song I've picked to accompany this scene. The wonder of it all is that it took me until now to feature this marvelous tune, which just gets better and better with age: Bon Jovi, with Blaze of Glory.

The song was written for the film Young Guns II, and it appears in the soundtrack. Here's a bit of amusing trivia, courtesy of Wikipedia: in October 2005, "Blaze of Glory" was voted "Best Song to Ride a Horse to in Slow Motion" by Blender Magazine.   :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.