Three Years

Since I saw this face in person.  It's been kind of a hard week.  The reality is so hard to accept at times.  Monday marked the anniversary of Sumner's passing into spirit.  A free and happy soul again.  

The weekend was strange but we had people around thankfully and projects to do, but on Monday, it was business as normal for most people.  But then the text messages and Facebook messages and cards started coming in and I am so grateful for all those who still remember and acknowledge the day - a day that would have no significance if not for this.  

I had lunch with a new friend today who also lost a son and understands the feelings and the process.  We met after a set of amazing coincidences and share something which thankfully not many have experienced. 
With the "day" behind me, the sadness is once again beginning to lift for now and joy will return for now. 

“When someone dies they can be any age you remember can't they ' she asked. As I tried to think of a reply she continued 'You probably think about the grown-up Tess because you were still close to her. But when I woke up I thought of her when she was three wearing a fairy skirt I'd got her in the Woolworth's and a policeman's helmet. Her wand was a wooden spoon. On the bus yesterday I imagined holding her when she was two days old. I felt the warmth of her. I remembered all her fingers clasped around my finger so tiny they didn't even meet. I remembered the shape of her head and stroking the nape of her neck till she slept. I remembered her smell. She smelled of innocence. Other times she's thirteen and so pretty that I worry for her everytime I see a man look at her. All of those Tesses is my daughter.” 
Rosamund Lupton, Sister

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.