Saltzburg, Austria

An early start today for our drive to Saltzburg with the sun reluctant to shine until the afternoon!

We had a guided walking tour and then free time, which gave us a chance to do the really touristy thing and have coffee and apple strudel in the Mozart Cafe:-). Not nearly as expensive as we expected, so a real treat.

I loved the horses everywhere, both real and in statues and the colourful markets and huge squares. The Mirabell Palace and Gardens will be familiar to anyone who saw "The Sound of Music" (so that's all of you, I assume!)

The shops were a delight just to look at and many had the beautiful metalwork signs over the entrance. Lots of dirndl skirts in evidence for this winter for Austrian ladies!

Of course, there were refernces to Mozart everywhere, as he was Saltzburg's most famous son, although apparently he hated the place and very quickly moved to Vienna, which just happens to be our destination for tomorrow:-)

I've already used up my wi-fi allocation on the ship, so am now using my husband's, which means I must limit my time online. I promise to catch up with you all on my return, as there will be no more holidays this year - I feel I've had more than my share:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.