Nelly

As boozers go, you have to walk a long way in the rain to beat the Nelly.

Rain or shine, 12 months of the year, it's always full. Usually of happy real ale drinkers, but I bear no ill-will to my wine drinking neighbours.

Imagine my delight, when on a walk around Southwold during a visit to a very old friend, who we hadn't seen for nigh-on 40 years, I was asked if I wanted to partake of something brown and wholesome in The Lord Nelson.

There, among portraits of England's greatest hero, we sampled the delights of Adnam's Ghost Ship, a superlative pale ale and watched the ebb and flow of lunchtime revellers.

On a day of delights, making contact with Binny, Southwold butterbuns and Nelly, I also met the superbly talented Rudi Dundas, who took our reunion photo with my inferior equipment.

I am still smiling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.