Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour

After this morning's photo class, I drove to Newcastle to see Lee Hall's new play, Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour.  This premiered at the Edinburgh Festival to rave reviews and is on at the Live Theatre in Newcastle with all performances sold out for weeks in advance.

I had a nightmare journey from Newton to the Quayside. It took 80 minutes and then all 8 floors of the Quayside carpark were full. Arghh! I found a place in Dean Street but had insufficient change and the phone payment system cut out 4 times. I shoved all available money in the machine and crossed my fingers.

The play, an adaptation of Alan Warner's novel, The Sopranos,  is rude, crude, happy, disturbingly sad and fast moving in a way that leaves the audience breathless. The 6 girls who take on all the roles are amazing. They sing beautifully as a sextet of school girls, on their way to a choir competition in Edinburgh, and later they sing to an accompanying rock band. Of course, they want to know all about the sex that they have been told to avoid. Drink and drugs play their part.

I emerged feeling drained. Julie was with me and slept only briefly!

Outside I met S from our community and a friend. They were happy to pose in front of the poster (and I've popped a second one in so you can see it).

I think this play is well worth seeing, especially if there is the opportunity for a post show discussion.

PS Not suitable for most nonegenarians and I chose not to take mine!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.