St. Helier and Elizabeth Castle

My panorama setting appears to be in good working order after all!  I am thankful that I'll be spared a couple of hundred euros worth of repairs and/or spare parts.

This morning, we took the bus to Mont Orgueil, where you find Gorey Castle.  A neat keep and 'donjon'.  What we especially liked about it was that practically all the rooms were accessible and that most of them were interconnected so that one didn't need to double back just to explore a particular area.  There was an exhibit scattered in various open areas and rooms of the 800-year-old connection with the Crown as well as in celebration of the queen's 60th year.  Upon leaving the castle grounds, though, hubby could not help but remark, "If you want to compare it with what we have seen in India ..." and I had to laugh.  India is, of course, an entirely different piece of cake.  We both know that.

After Gorey Castle, we took the bus back to our B&B where I picked up my memory card.  Nice thing about my Sony -- its mini-memory can accommodate 28 shots (no videos).  After about half an hour of rest, we set off again, this time on foot, to the port of St. Helier nearby, and walked along the coast all the way up to the pier where we could look at Elizabeth Castle across the water.  Folks had told us that it wasn't really worth visiting and we just accepted that and were content to look at it from a distance.  Then back to town where hubby had some coffee, then back to Havre les Pas to the White Horse restaurant for dinner.  We had thought of going to the Bistro near our B&B but hubby had been given too much change (10 pounds!) at the White Horse the evening before.  We agreed that we should return it honestly, and so we were rewarded this evening with free drinks.  The appetite I did not have yesterday evening returned in full force tonight and I polished off every dish.

I'm still thinking of my hopefully unplugged iron but no longer worrying about it.  Thanks for unplugging it for me!  :D))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.