Learning day by day

By EmmaF

1/4 of the winning house team

Today was my last morning at school until after half term, but I returned this afternoon in my 'governor' capacity to listen to the Poetry Recital Competition. It was fab. You could see how much work had been put in by the kids who were representing their houses with pride. They all had volunteered to chose and learn a poem and then perform it in front of the whole school.

Carys chose to learn 'The Naming of Cats' which is a long poem with lots of tricky words (ineffable, effable, effanineffable! ), but she mastered it and performed it well (not as well as she had at home, but that is too be expected given the audience).

There was an individual winner and a house winner. The individual was well deserved although the it was a close competition. Carys's house, Jupiter, won the overall competition and were very happy. Will was extremely proud of his house and in particular his sister.

Parents evening tonight. I can't express how I feel. Carys is continuing her steady progress in maths and doing really well with reading and literacy. I know mostly what to expect when it comes to Carys but never quite sure with Will. I am blown away tonight by what I was told. My baby boy has grown up so much and has come so far. Long may it continue with both of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.