My Life in Pictures

By PhillyStitcher

Written on August 1st

Taken on my birthday at Amada Restaurant in Philly...this is the lamp/centerpiece on our table. We chose this Spanish restaurant after watching the final episode of "Gran Hotel" on Netflix last night. We're so sad to see the end of this fabulous show...

Just got my MRI results. It is a Lumbar Degenerative Disc Disease and also, as suspected, Lumbar Spinal Stenosis. Fusion surgery, epidural injections or oral steroids have been offered to me as treatment options. Exactly what they are, I have no idea. Somehow, I found myself with an appointment for an epidural injection at a pain management clinic this coming Wednesday, per othopedist's strong recommendation. My mind is spinning with questions. I've been living with unbelievable pain for almost two months and I'm at my wits' end.

My Dalmatian Holly is having an interesting summer. Stem cell therapy. The elbow at her front right leg collapsed due to arthritis and had become bone against bone, making her walk on 3 legs. Her veterinarian suggested harvesting fatty cells from her tummy to make a "cushion" between the two bones. The procedure required two surgeries, which Holly snapped out of, thankfully (a concern there since she's 12 years old). After a few sessions with a physical therapist plus a twice-daily pain prescription, she's now able to walk all 4 legs. She's an amazing and determined old lady!

The hot and muggy weather continues...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.