mrsc48

By mrsc48

Manager of the year

Yesterday we had a little party for my manager and my friend leaving for pastures new.

Today I've been to work feeling remarkably well considering the gin, pints and shots we had yesterday. I wasn't quite up with the lark this morning but I wasn't far after.

Feeling ok, daughter dropped of at school, car filled with petrol off I went to tackle the petty cash. I've only been trying to balance it all for nearly 2 weeks, i've even dumped it all and started again 3 times. I've been pence up, down, hundreds of pounds up or down £20 and £14. It's driven me mad but today saw it balance.

So, pleased with myself i was able to go home happy and get ready for another night out. This one was the excellence awards. Our team nominated our manager, my friend for Manager of the year. It was nerve racking as the shortlisted 6 then became 3 finalists. Phew - a finalist. The best of the three wasn't to be and the award went to a colleague who works in a place similar to ours. The winner was as worthy as if my manager had received it so well done to them.

The meal was lovely. 3 courses and we were lucky to be sat with the tour of britain team and listening to what they did was great stuff. I want to shadow their team to see how they plan for events such as the tour of britain.

We met a lady whose named escaped us for a while but with a little investigation we found out her name. The disco played and me and my manager had our one dance to Bryan Adams summer of 69. Bon jovi followed but we declined that and sat down.

It was good to see some familiar faces but also meet knew ones. The meal was good, company was good, not quite the result we hoped for but we had a good night out, we don't have many so this was good.

Well done to the winner, but to us my friend you will always be our Manager of the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.