Smile on my face

It's an early halloween party.

I've been out to get these eyes for the party.

I did think they were a waste of money to be honest but as soon as they were in place and hearing girls scream when they saw them, i agreed they were a great idea.

Years ago when I was a teenager myself my mam used to stay up on a Friday and Saturday to collect me from a night out.

We had the agreement 12am but that soon stretched to a 1am or 2am. There were no mobile phones we agreed a time and place. I was always there and so was my mam.

Now its my turn. I'm sitting here, not feeling too well actually (this week has caught up with me), but one of my teenagers has a party. 12midnight we agreed, thats ok. Alarm set on mobile phone in case i fall asleep (which I did), and a text message arrives. 1am please. Ok son yes I'll wait up for you to come and collect you.

What goes around comes around and now I know what it was like for my mam. But i think she thought like me, i'll sit up all night so long as I get them both home safely.

I'm off on taxi duty now, its cold windy, i don't feel too good but I will go with a smile on my face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.