TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Old Tree Goblin

Is it just me or is this the spooky face of an old tree goblin? Perhaps my imagination is running away with me. After all, Halloween is only nine days away... but when I was gazing at the moon playing hide and seek with some wispy high clouds this evening, I was suddenly acutely aware of this sort of macabre mask of terror embodied in the tree standing before me. Now and forevermore he will be the Old Tree Goblin to me. Do you see him?

The Goblin has a wider mouth 
Than any wondering elf. 
The saddest part of this is that 
He brings it on himself. 
For hanging in a willow clump 
In baskets made of sheaves, 
You may see the baby goblins 
Under coverlets of leaves.

They suck a pink and podgy foot, 
(as human babies often do), 
And then they suck the other one, 
Until they are sucking two. 
And so it that goblins' mouths 
Keep growing very round. 
So you can't mistake a goblin, 
When a goblin you have found.



~ Monica Shannon ~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.