TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Autumn Street Flowers

I spotted these vibrant flowering cabbages and chrysanthemums adorning the street front of a small shop in downtown Altoona, Pennsylvania early this evening.
Their dramatic deep colors caught my eye as I was making my way back to the car after leaving a medical cannabis rally that had just wrapped up.
I love the bright, newly-born flowers of Spring, but the flowers of Autumn...oh my...their strength and richness of hue is a mighty sight to behold!

O crimson-tined flowers
That live when others die,
What thoughtless hand unloving
Could ever pass you by?

You are the last bright blossoms,
The summer's after-glow,
When all her early children
Have faded long ago.

Your tints are like the beauty
The sunlight leaves behind,
And deep and full of sadness
The thoughts you bring to mind.

Dear memories of the summer!
Sweet tokens of the past!
You are the fairest flowers
Because you are the last.

~ Fannie Isabel Sherrick

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.