Shropsiren

By shropsiren

The Brigadier, The Teacher and The Detective

Sounds like something from a game of cluedo! Today was a mixed bag of emotions. Had my good friend and colleague down from Nairobi for lunch. We then had a work meeting in town, the less said about that the better, other than my blood pressure is probably through the roof!!
The afternoon was spent writing a load of editorial for the new website launch.
This evening, as our host was in Nairobi for the night, my fellow senior volunteer James and I decided to have a night out with our friend Peter who is a music teacher at the local prep school. We were starting to feel the effects of cabin fever so a night out was the perfect solution. 
We drove to a new lodging complex/hotel which has just opened up on top of a nearby ridge a couple of miles away. The journey was up one of the bumpiest and muddiest tracks I have ever been up and the rallying skills of James were put to the test.  Other than the owners child and staff we were the only ones there. 
The owner's child had one of these new Segway type hover board gadgets. Well, me being me asked if I could have a go. Now I've been on a Segway before and was a natural....not on this gizmo though. What ensued for the next few minutes was pure hysterics. The more I laughed the more the Segway decided to keep changing from backwards to forwards, which caused me to laugh even more. It's been a long time since I had such a laughing fit. 
Today's picture is of James who took to it straight away, that is until he stopped and tried to get off. He ended up in a heap in the floor. More raucous laughter ensued and luckily no injuries.
James is a recently retired army brigadier who has come out to spend 3 months volunteering. His job out here is to completely reorganise how things are run here day to day at the Orphanage and the supporting projects. He is busy re-writing policies,strategies, contracts, and having meetings with contractors about buildings, septic tanks and the water supply. All things which he seems to be extremely good at,  which is not surprising considering his background. 
So the teacher, the brigadier and I had a pleasant meal washed down with a couple of South African bottles of red, which I have to say were much needed after earlier events of the day. 
I think we may have found ourselves a new local drinking establishment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.