ST MARTIN'S

A very good birding day on St Martin's with an Ortolan Bunting, which was a Lifer, and 3 Snow Buntings. The fact that they were at opposite ends of the island was good for the waistline and I've noticed that my feet are aching less.

Extras are field hedges where the Ortolan was found, well done that man, I gave him half my Kit-Kat. And the Day Mark, where the Snow Buntings were. The Day Mark, so called as it can only be seen by ships during the day, was built in 1683. It has internal stairs but the doorway is blocked up. I wonder whether it might be a worthwhile idea to stick a light on it now.

We dined at The Star Castle Hotel ooh la and delicious it was too, then rolled down the hill from the Garrison to the Scillonian Club for the nightly bird log. We had not been before but it was satisfying to be able to contribute to the list whilst quaffing my G&T nightcap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.