Trick or Treat

Although the practice of “trick or treating” around our way is a relatively recent pastime, the idea of celebrating the eve of All Saints’ Day in fancy dress is well established,
I remember years ago going to Halloween parties or balls where you were expected to dress up, although I am sure that the costumes or masks were not nearly as frightening as some of those I saw on the shelves of the supermarket today.
It’s those which I fear will be much favoured for the door to door evening pursuit of “trick or treating,” yet potentially scaring to the older generation who will be somewhat wary of answering the door.
But fancy dress is something else. One Halloween dinner party in a hotel we attended I turned up wearing a full head wig, completely covering my somewhat thinning hair.  We just happened to sit at table with someone I had had lunch with earlier in the day. So effective was the wig, that there was not a hint of recognition right up until the end of the evening!  That almost persuaded me that a wig wouldn’t be such a bad idea permanently.  Almost!
I suppose it was in the late1980s — early 90s that we first became aware of “trick or treating” and children in scary fancy dress, sometimes with masks knocking the door, hoping to be offered sweets or some such treat.
At that level it can be harmless fun, but I have experience of the threat being turned to unwelcome mischief and thereby marring what is supposed to be a festival which has religious origins.
But the vast choice of fancy dress, masks and other paraphernalia available on the shelves of each of three supermarkets I visited today, makes the prospect of Halloween a trifle disturbing.

Best approach, I fear, is to go along with it and have a supply of candy or sweets at the ready.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.