He's a keeper

Dusty became Benedict Pearce today :-) He has the saddest eyes of an unusual and beautiful hue.

Benedict purred and enjoyed being patted and scratched today. When I first met him yesterday morning he'd only just returned from a night at the vets. He was nervous, anxious and hyper alert, but there was something there that drew me back again late yesterday.

On the second visit late afternoon he was happy to be patted but there were no purrs. He was more settled, though concerned about the dull thud he could hear from bass tones somewhere nearby. I felt even more drawn to him.

This morning there were purrs and he enjoyed being brushed. For now Benedict feels safest on his bed in the open cat carrier, or within the large pen the carrier is within. There is no cowering, cringing, hissing or anything to concern. He is happy for me to reach in and pat and stroke him. You can see Benedict wants to trust and it's important to let him do that at his own pace.

Kerry who runs the 5-star luxury accommodation also visited with Alex and me today. She confirmed there are no major issues, just the makings of a loving and loyal cat. I have yet to pick him up as he isn't ready for that yet. I know he has been ok with that from the woman who is fostering him. All in good time.

I'll visit Benedict regularly over the next month as he continues his transformation from traumatised cement covered cat, to restored and trusting Benedict, ready for the best of cat homes in a street with repaired sewers :-)

Benedict is not Wilson's replacement. He is isn't the black cat with oriental features and amber eyes I miss so much and grieve for. He isn't even black.

But I believe he is the cat Wilson tapped on the shoulder as heir to throne, the next Prince of Waltham. Mum as usual was right, there is always another cat that needs to be loved, and Benendict appears to be the right one. Benedict means blessed. I think that is going to be mutual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.