The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Someone tried to do me ache

As I was working in Swansea I visited Rhossili "on the way home". It's sort of on the way home if you like the scenic route.
Whenever I've turned up with my HG at Rhossili on a light wind day there will invariably be at least one PG flier who grins at me and says something along the lines of, "You'll be struggling to stay up on that today!" What they never realise is, if there is any struggling to be done it is purely because there will be so many aerial duvet covers to slalom your way through. When it was just hang gliders we'd all fly safely, limiting the numbers to the size of the site and be aware of closing speeds and pilot etiquette. With PGs it's more of a free for all and there are some pilots who display the airmanship of Kamikaze pilots. Actually it wasn't too bad today but there was one eejit who insisted on trying to launch whilst I was scratching in front of take off purely because I had nowhere else to go. I did shout at him but he still took off. He's about 3 minutes in.
I think I enjoyed yesterday's bike ride more - I never thought that I might die for a start. Thinking about it now, the biggest eejit there was me. I should have kept my feet on the ground

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.