CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

An evening visit by a Swallow-tail Moth

At 1150 pm this evening I saw this moth clinging to the outside of my window.

I went to find my camera and managed to take this using just the light from a small ceiling bulb in the room. Unfortunately it was on the outside of a very thick double-galzed window which made it a bit tricky.

I love these yellow moths, one of which I blipped sometime ago when it spent the night in a bedroom and laid eggs on the window frame. It is a Swallow-tail Moth - Ourapteryx sambucaria.

I don't want this one to come in, as it would almost certainly die inside and not have the chance to live a normal life in the fragrant and still night air. Hopefully when I have uploaded this and gone to bed it will fly away to live its life.

It has moved its position around a couple of times, but is still there at 1220am. Goodnight all and sundry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.