Autumn Deck, Looking Into Our Little Woods

The weather was rainy and overcast, and it was mostly an indoor sort of weekend. We've been away so much, traveling around through all of October to see the foliage colors, that it felt good to stay home for a day or two. I had a lot of catching up to do around the house.

Late on Sunday afternoon, the sun finally broke through, and I went outside to take a few pictures. About a week ago, I showed you the view of Gremlin's Meadow this time of year. This is the view of our deck, looking into the woods behind our house. We sometimes see deer in these woods.

The deck, to be truthful, may just be the main reason why I bought the house. Once I stood on the deck, I just knew I wanted to enjoy my morning coffee on it for the rest of my life. The day I got to see inside the house, I made an offer; the next day, my offer was accepted. And the rest, as they say, is history. I guess that's what it's like to truly find your way home. . . .

The soundtrack to accompany this image of our little woods is John Denver's wonderful tune, Take Me Home, Country Roads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.