Whipple Dam Dressed in Autumn Finery

October, with its special glories, is quite possibly my favorite month of the year. The foliage change comes to Pennsylvania, and it is beautiful to behold. My husband and I are leaf peepers from way back when, and when October comes, we chase the colors all around central Pennsylvania. October is a whirlwind for us. Time grows short. Go and see!

I scheduled an impromptu vacation day and my husband and I set out on an adventure. We had been talking for some time about checking out the colors at Whipple Dam State Park, and throwing in a beautiful hot lunch at Couch's in McAlevy's Fort, and so on this day, that is just what we did!

The park was nearly deserted when we got there, except for Canada geese. I don't know if the geese live there or if they were just passing through, but there were plenty of them, maybe 60 or more. They kept their distance from us, floating around on the water for a while and then seeming to perform organized yoga maneuvers on the shore. (If you look closely, you can actually see tiny geese-dots on the sandy beach area to the right in both shots.)

I'm including two pictures from Whipple Dam. The one above was my best reflection shot, and you know how obsessed I can get about reflections. :-) The shot in the extras is a redo of the photo I posted in August when we had our last summer swim there; back then, the place was bedecked in summer green. But on this day, it was dressed in autumn finery!

I've been listening to U2's album October (of course!), and my soundtrack tune is the first song from it. The song is a hymn of praise, and I thought it quite appropriate for this day's amazing color display. Here is U2, with Gloria, live at Red Rocks, from 1983.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.