Tree of Light

It was the coldest morning of the season so far, with highs in the 20s F. There was hard frost everywhere, and I knew even before I left the house that the mist would be rising. My big quandary: where to go to see it best?

My daily drive to work takes me past a pretty little pond at Skytop Farm, and as I neared the pond, I saw that it was covered in layer after layer of fabulous mist. This was it! I pulled the car over, just in time to watch the first rays of light hit the little pond.

The timing couldn't have been more perfect. I was there for only five minutes or so, walking along the edge of the pond, trying to capture the mist. First, the mist was gray/silver. Then the sun came, and it warmed the mist and turned it into gold.

I liked the way the light shone through a gnarly tree on the other side of the little pond. The tree seemed to be wearing the sun inside it: its very own heart of gold.

Bonus: I've included a wider shot of the full pond in the extras so that you may see the tree in its natural context. Can you blame me for pulling over for a better look? :-)

The soundtrack: I've used this one before and you can bet that I'll use it again because it's just so good: live from 1971, Neil Young with Heart of Gold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.