Farm Scene on Loveville Road

There is a burnt cabin on Loveville Road that I visit every few weeks. It is a bare ruin, really, and I'm not sure why but I am drawn back again and again. To watch it fall down, I guess. To remind myself that nothing lasts, so that I remember to seize each day.

The light is very good there in the morning, and I once watched a heron depart from the little stream that flows by the old barn. It sailed past the watchful, quiet cows and into the sky; I don't know where . . .

On this morning, a huge, dark bank of clouds lifted from the horizon and parted at just the right moment. The dry cornstalks rustled under a light breeze. A chunky shaft of golden light shone out like a beacon, painting everything with gold: the farm scene, the foliage, the road, the cows, and me.

I don't recommend you stand where I did to take this picture, but truth be told, it's a quiet road, with little traffic. And the view is quite good from there. The soundtrack is the Pretenders, with Middle of the Road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.