Autumn Colors at Black Moshannon

A week ago while hiking in our local gameland, we ran into a man who told us that the foliage colors were very nice at Black Moshannon State Park. I had been wanting to visit there for the past few weeks, and this Sunday afternoon, we finally made it.

I had high hopes, remembering the wonderful colors from last year. But alas, the week that passed between last Sunday and this one was wet and wild and windy. And we found that around most of the lake, the peak color had passed. The best color that remained was around the swimming area.

I'm including two photos. The one in the extras, I took from the bridge that overlooks the swimming area. To get the main photo above, I walked along the shoreline and behind that little building on the left that you see in the extra photo.

In the picture above, I giggled to see a single green leaf nestled against the orange and brown ones on the ground in the lower left. The colors and textures on this day seemed to me to be somehow . . . quintessentially fall.

I decided that the song to accompany these two images has to include the word fall. So here is Bono, with a cover of the Elvis tune, Can't Help Falling in Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.