Shropsiren

By shropsiren

Tears and Talent in a tiny world

What a great Saturday. We had visitors again to the Restart orphanage and would you believe it they were from my home town of Shrewsbury...again!!. I'm 4000 miles away and in the space of a week we  have had two separate groups of visitors from Shrewsbury. It really is a small world. This time it was a woman called Jackie and her husband. I'd never met them before but they happened to know a couple of my colleagues. They were here to visit the daughter of my host and it was Jackie's first trip back to Kenya since she last came 23 yrs ago. 
This afternoon we had the semi final heat of Restart's Got Talent. I resigned my post as judge so that I could take photographs instead. Again I had over 100 pics to choose from but the one I chose is of Wanjiru (aka Terri). It was her last day of volunteering at the orphanage before heading back to Nairobi to pursue her law career. I know that the experience has deeply touched her as it does every volunteer who comes to spend time with these children, it's impossible not to be moved. The person in the picture with her is Dan who is another hero of this charity. Dan is the social worker and counsellor. I'm not going to say too much about Dan as I intend to blog about him in the near future as he deserves a blog of his own. When the picture was taken Dan was presenting Terri with a small gift from the children and saying a few nice words about her. (Terri- you only live a couple of hours away and can visit every weekend!!!!)
The talent show was a great success and Terri snuck out half way through to avoid the trauma of saying goodbye to the children. 
Good luck for the future Terri, it was a pleasure to have met you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.