Shropsiren

By shropsiren

Classroom Chaos

I would have made a lousy teacher that's for sure. Today was Sunday, it is compulsory for children in orphanages in Kenya to receive a religious teaching. With that in mind I had a lie in and went up  to the orphanage long after the service had finished. I spent all day with the children and kept them entertained with a secret mission which will be revealed in due course. It involved around 15 of the children aged between 4 and 12, and utilised their colouring/creative skills. It was a great test of my patience, diplomacy skills, negotiating skills and DIY skills (the table leg collapsed with so many children round it). But the end result was fantastic. The picture is of two of the children holding up a small sample of the final masterpiece. Julius is the one on the left, he was my teaching assistant/ interpreter for the day. He really is a bright young lad who I have no doubt will go far in life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.