Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Monkey lives!

Bailey and her mum popped round this morning to take Archie up the Hill, so that was a great help, being as how I can't go far at all... My knee is still very sore, but I can hobble. I have to be very careful in bed, as it 'locks' for no apparent reason. But I did manage up the ladder to change the two big wall clocks to the same time as everyone else in the UK. And to change a lightbulb in the kitchen.

When Bailey and Archie came back from their run up the Hill, two wee lassies, grandchildren of J, also breezed in. They consumed cokes and chocolate biscuits - perhaps they're not normally allowed them... They have a schnauzer at home, who must be pretty laid back, but Archie wasn't too keen on their vigorous cuddles, and even Bailey eventually protested.

This morning I didn't see/hear Archie for a while, so I knew he was up to no good. Or else sitting innocently in a patch of sun. But there he was, in the kitchen, quietly ripping to shreds his oldest toy (which has been stitched up many times) the original 'Monkey'  after which all his toys are named. Is he hanging his head in shame... or is he just checking out the remaining ear...

While Archie was out, I mended Monkey and three other toys I've been collecting  (I'm Scottish). They've been sitting on the table for days and he spotted them, and kept barking. I covered them with a towel, and bingo! Because he couldn't see them, they weren't there any more. Makes sense. To a dog.

I've also got to the bottom of why I can't text my pal on the iPhone. She lives in Jersey, which is a foreign country, apparently, and not included on my 'data plan'. So I wonder if I did actually need a whole new phone the other day...

Off to see the Knee Man tomorrow - very timely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.