Narrowboats!

In case you hadn't noticed from previous blips, I have a fascination with Narrowboats and canals. I see them frequently when we go walking along the River Thames and the Kennet & Avon canal.  One of these days I'm going to hire one for a Narrowboat holiday!  I've just finished watching a 6-part BBC documentary on the history of the canals in Britain which fueled my interest even more!  

So I decided to take a short little Narrowboat trip on this sunny and warm autumn afternoon. I took a friend and we headed off to Hungerford on the Kennet & Avon canal. This was their last scheduled boat trip for the season. It was supposed to be a 2 1/2 hour trip but they had already shortened it to 90 minutes for the autumn. Still very enjoyable, and because it was shorter than expected we had time to take a walk along the canal in the other direction and do a loop through the small and pretty town of Hungerford.

A very pleasant way to spend a Sunday afternoon!  Sadly I left Dolly behind. She would have loved it, both the boat trip and the walk along the canal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.