Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Mono Monday Challenge: Origins

When I saw the challenge for this week I knew exactly what I would be Blipping; my poster for the play 'Inherit The Wind'.  For those who don't know it, the play is set in the Southern states of the USA and is based on the trial and conviction in 1925 of John Scopes for teaching Darwin's theories of the Origins of Species, contrary to a Tennessee State law which effectively decreed that the bible was the only true account of the origins of mankind.  I worked backstage on the play many years ago when I worked in a theatre in Middlesbrough but more recently saw a wonderful production of it at the Old Vic, starring Kevin Spacey (who autographed the poster for me!).  It is a powerful play and well worth seeing if there is ever another production, and was made into an excellent film in 1960 starring Spencer Tracy.

Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting the challenge this month and for coming up with some excellent themes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.