Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Walk by Hadrian's Wall

I've been fairly housebound for a few days, catching up with this and that before preparing to go to Exmoor on a photo workshop next week.

The weather has been really good, so I finally dragged myself out for a walk this afternoon. The Hadrian's Wall Trail runs about half a mile from our house, and I realise that I have not shown many images of it on Blip. I walked westwards to Limestone Corner and retraced my steps eastwards, covering about 2 miles in total.

This tree caught my eye and I decided to present it as a silhouette against a rather delicate afternoon sky. The extra image is of the Wall itself, just west of Black Carts. You can see the Military Road on the right side. This road was originally laid by General Wade, starting in 1746 after the recent Jacobite Rising. He wanted to move troups from the east to west. His new road destroyed a lot of Hadrian's Wall.

Popped in to Slimming World - lost 2 lb this week. Nearly at my final target.

Quizzy Monday is about to begin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.