Denzil's occasional Blips

By denzilblount

Mono Monday - ORIGINS - MM91

My first Mono Monday Blip in quite some time.  ORIGINS was quite a tricky subject.  I have been thinking about it a bit on and off all day and came up with seeds as an origin to a plants. And what seed could be more of an ORIGIN than a conker that could one day become a grand Horse Chestnut (Aesculus hippocastanum) tree.

After messing with an image for quite a while on the dining table (wooden = sticking with the theme!), I decided to form a tree and use light painting to create an image with movement and energy.  I hope that I achieved that to some extent.  Sharpened the image a little using the Photoshop 'Unsharp Mask' filter.

The kids and I planted some conkers in plant pots over the weekend, by the way.  I remember doing this as a kid and being excited at the prospect of seeing my Horse Chestnut tree when we were both fully grown.  My dad and I planted it on a place called Croft Hill in Leicestershire.  However, a few weeks later more trees were planted and I never knew which one (if any) was mine.  I haven't been back to see if there is a conker tree there.  Maybe there is!

Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting Mono Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.