Journey Through Time

By Sue

Goodnight Moon

Goodnight Moon is an American children's picture book written by Margaret Wise Brown and illustrated by Clement Hurd. It was published on September 3, 1947, and is a highly acclaimed example of a bedtime story. It features a child saying good night to everything around: "Goodnight room. Goodnight moon. Goodnight cow jumping over the moon. Goodnight light, and the red balloon ...".

Honestly, I did not know (or maybe I've forgotten, there is always THAT possibility) that book was nearly as old as me.  I don't remember it from my childhood, but we had the book when our son was little and I enjoyed reading it to him. In fact, we still have the book.  Hard to give up a classic book and memory like this.  Simple and sweet and a perfect bedtime story for probably millions of kids over the years. 

You can read more interesting things about this book here.

Rain is on it's way, so this may be the last of the moon we will see for a while.  Goodnight Moon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.