Proud Weegie

By Shiv

Nostalgic Knitting

This time of year I like nothing better than a good 'clear oot'!

No, I'm not talking about colonic irrigation or a detox - I get much more enjoyment from sorting through drawers, cupboards and attic space.

The more I can throw away the better I feel.

At the moment I'm on the lookout for old Halloween Costumes for No 3.  You would be forgiven for thinking this blip is an 80's Nightmare - but this was one of my (many) self knits from my student days in the 80s.

My mum had a wardrobe full of dresses which she was saving until 'they came back into fashion'.  Black full length halter necks, gold and black tunic (she made when pregnant and altered post-pregnancy), bat wing 70's dresses.   Not to mention cuban heel shoes and sparky handbags.  She was never a hoarder - but she kept special things, possibly for the memories they held?  I still have a few of her dresses in my attic now!

For some reason I hung on to this wee gem.  With the resurging popularity of Xmas Jumpers I may get a wear out of this soon.

It looks a lot baggier on No 1 than it did on me, must have stretched in it's hibernation - just as well....I'm a bit baggier than my 1980's self too !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.