Cailleach

By Cailleach

Ring Me....

Like many people, I'm a bit blasé about my surroundings. After nearly 28 years in Edinburgh, I forget to see the beauty of this old city.

But sometimes, I suddenly look up and think 'Wow, there's a whacking great castle right in the middle of town....why haven't I noticed it for a while?'

Once, I was on a train going through Princes St Gardens, when I heard a tourist (I won't say what nationality, but she had an accent not unlike Dolly Parton's) say, in very disappointed tones, 'That castle is much smaller than I was led to believe.'
She was pointing at Jenner's Department Store at the time......

And on days like this, when Edinburgh is joining in with the Olympic spirit, there is nowhere on earth I'd rather live.

Except for Bath, perhaps....
Zaragoza in autumn maybe.....
Beaune, possibly.........
Tiree, when it's sunny I suppose.......

Hmmm, I'll get back to you on that one...............................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.