An Unusual Visitor

to the Canal today :)

Coffee with a friend in town

Shopped for new trousers (big fail ~ why do retailers and fashion experts expect everyone to have twiggy legs these days :( )

Walked down by the canal to look for the cygnet family who are decreasing every day and spreading out.  I did find the parents with one cygnet, but the rest seem to have flown the nest.  They're getting their white feathers now :)

Then I saw this bird, and I've never seen one so close before.  Took 187 pictures of cygnets, swans but mostly this one.  I wondered what it was, and cormorant had crossed my mind.  A gent passing by knew and told me it definitely was a cormorant....

They are regulars at the lake I visit, but I've never seen one this close before and was very surprised as I read on the RSPB website that they are coastal birds, but visit lakes and gravel pits BUT this was on the canal?

Several more shots in Flickr

On with the job hunting!

Happy Tuesday folks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.